Tradition


16th CENTURY

The Wirsching Family came to Franconia in the 16th century and donated a vineyard to the church in 1630. This date marks the beginning of the family's activities in Iphofen. Since then, till the present, we have lived and worked thru the generations in the estate's main building which was built in 1550.

19th CENTURY

Due to difficult weather conditions, the wine growing operations in the 19th century was small compared to today. Besides the wine-growing business, the great-grandfather of today's active generation, Michael Wirsching, operated a thriving trade business. The property on Ludwigstrasse also had a large vegetable garden and the obligatory pigs, cows and chickens necessary to keep food on the table to feed a large swarm of children.

20th CENTURY

The turn of the century brought new difficulties upon the next generation: Andreas Wirsching was confronted by the phylloxera vine pest disaster, which, in the period from 1904 to 1911, all but completely destroyed the vineyards along the so-called 'Iphofen Mountain'. The First World War did the rest.

Hans Wirsching, his son, came back from the war as a young man and after his father's death assumed full responsibility. He decided to fight for Iphofen's languishing vineyards and the family's newly established estate. His most important achievements, as President of the local Winegrower's Association, was winning the battle over the opposition to plant new vineyards with grafted, phylloxera-resistant vines. He created a new name for the best Iphofen site, the Julius-Echter-Berg, and, with his own hands and the help of his sons, replanted vineyard for vineyard. Hans Wirsching became known for excellent Silvaner wines, he sold all the way to Berlin. In 1952, he planted the first Scheurebe vine in Franconia.

In the early 1960's, Hans Wirsching Jr., a gifted winemaker, brought back to Franconia from Munich, his brother, Heinrich, who was a graduate business economist there. From then on, these two brothers wrote the great success story of the estate. Thanks to their early commitment to land and farming consolidation and their particular dedication to Iphofen's vineyards, Iphofen has developed into one of the leading wine-growing communities in all of Franconia.

Dr. Heinrich Wirsching has shaped the development of the estate, which has grown and become known far beyond Germany's borders. The 'new style' that Hans had given his wines - fresh, reductive, elegant and slim - has become a trademark. Wirsching wine was present at the banquets of an American president, was taken throughout the world by Bavarian delegations, and, in 1980, even became the 'Mass Wine' of the Pope. The early passing of Hans in 1990 did not change the qualities that make Wirsching wines special.

Today

Today, the new generation has already assumed its responsibilities: Andrea, eldest daughter of Heinrich Wirsching, is part of the management, mainly taking care of marketing and sales. Lena, his youngest daughter, completed her Bachelor in International Wine Business in Geisenheim and is now studying for a Master in Family Business Management. The sister's goal is to successfully continue in the estate's tradition of success thru the production of special world-class Silvaner, Riesling and Scheurebe wines.

Tradition


16. Jahrhundert

Die Wirschings kamen im 16. Jahrhundert nach Franken und stifteten 1630 einen Weinberg an die Kirche – dieses Datum markiert den Beginn der familiären Aktivitäten im Weinbau in Iphofen. Das heutige Stammhaus, gebaut um 1550, beherbergt seitdem viele Generationen.

19. Jahrhundert

Im 19. Jahrhundert war der Weinbau wegen schwieriger Witterungsverhältnisse klein im Vergleich zu heute. Der Ururgroßvater der heute aktiven Generation, Michael Wirsching, betrieb neben dem Weinbau ein florierendes Handelsgeschäft. Das Anwesen in der Ludwigstrasse hatte aber auch einen großen Gemüsegarten und die obligatorischen Schweine, Kühe und Hühner, um den Speisezettel für die große Kinderschar zu bereichern.

20. Jahrhundert

Die Jahrhundertwende brachte der nächsten Generation neue Schwierigkeiten: Andreas Wirsching war konfrontiert mit der Reblauskatastrophe, die in der Zeit von 1904 bis 1911 den Weinbau am sog. „Iphöfer Berg“ komplett zerstörte. Der erste Weltkrieg tat das Übrige.

Hans Wirsching, sein Sohn, kam als junger Mann aus dem Krieg zurück und nach dem Tod seines Vaters früh in die Verantwortung. Er entschied sich, für den darniederliegenden Iphöfer Weinbau zu kämpfen und begründete das Weingut neu. Zu seinen wichtigsten Leistungen gehörte als Präsident des örtlichen Weinbauvereins der Kampf um Unterstützung, neue Weinberge mit gepfropften, reblausresistenten Reben anzulegen. Er fand einen neuen Namen für die beste Iphöfer Lage, den Julius-Echter-Berg und legte eigenhändig und mit Hilfe seiner Söhne Weinberg für Weinberg neu an. Hans Wirsching wurde bekannt für gute Silvaner, verkaufte seine Weine bis nach Berlin und pflanzte 1952 die erste Scheurebe in Franken.


Hans Wirsching jun., begnadeter Kellermeister, holte Anfang der 60er Jahre seinen Bruder Heinrich, als promovierten Betriebswirt aus München zurück nach Franken und von da an schrieben beide die große Erfolgsgeschichte des Weinguts. Auf ihr Engagement hin entwickelte sich Iphofen mit einer frühen Flurbereinigung zu einer der führenden Weinbaugemeinden Frankens.

Dr. Heinrich Wirsching prägte die Entwicklung des Weingutes, welches wuchs und weit über Deutschlands Grenzen hinaus bekannt wurde. Der „neue Stil“, den Hans seinen Weinen gab – frisch, reduktiv, elegant und schlank – wurde zum Markenzeichen. Wirsching Wein fand sich bei Banketts des amerikanischen Präsidenten, wurde von bayerischen Delegationen in die ganze Welt mitgenommen und 1980 sogar „Messwein“ des Papstes. An der besonderen Qualität der Weine änderte sich auch nach dem Tod von Hans 1990 nichts.

Heute

Heute ist die neue Generation schon in der Verantwortung: Andrea, älteste Tochter von Heinrich Wirsching, arbeitet in der Geschäftsleitung mit und kümmert sich vorwiegend um Marketing und Verkauf. Lena, seine jüngste Tochter, absolviert nach einem Weinwirtschafts-Studium in Geisenheim noch einen Master in Family Business Management, um dann zusammen mit ihrer Schwester die Tradition des Weinguts – besondere Silvaner, Rieslinge und Scheureben – erfolgreich weiterzuführen.

  • Julius Echter Berg
  • Falstaff-Auszeichnung für das Lebenswerk
  • Barrique-Keller
  • Andrea Wirsching, Dr. Heinrich Wirsching und Lena Wirsching
  • Weinlese
  • Historischer Weinkeller